Regional Events

Regional events started in April 2018 and have slowly spread throughout the 11 regions of New Zealand.

There will be an event happening in your area where everyone is welcome to attend and share your experiences with other growers, or propective growers.

Karen Drummond is the current Regional Groups Coordinator for the NZTA Executive Committee and can be contacted via email on  regions@nztruffles.org.nz.

Regional Coordinators

The regional coordinators are:

RegionRegional CoordinatorEmail Address
NorthlandSteve Karlsteve.karl@xtra.co.nz
AucklandSteve Karlsteve.karl@xtra.co.nz
WaikatoToff and Laurie Mylchreestmylchreestfamily@xtra.co.nz
Bay of Plenty (North)Maureen Binnscolbyandmomo@yahoo.com.au
Bay of Plenty (South)Annette Mundaymatandi@xtra.co.nz
Hawke's BayAlex Merrieamerrie@hotmail.co.nz
TaranakiDan Zinslikylie.zinsli@gmail.com
Kapiti/Horowhenua/ManawatuTBC
Are you able to volunteer?
Wellington/WairarapaNeil Cameronlochiel@xtra.co.nz
Nelson/MarlboroughPeter Burtonpeter.burton@nmdhb.govt.nz
CanterburyCatherine and Matt Dwancatherine@thepropertyfirm.co.nz
OtagoRod Keillorrodkeillor@gmail.com

Regional Events

DateRegionContactContact EmailMeeting Details
1 May 2019WellingtonFiona Johnsonadmin@nztruffles.org.nzI am arranging to have dinner with Ian Hall and his wife Wei Ping on 1 May when he comes to Wellington to receive his new year’s honours. It would be great if others are able to join us.
4 May 2019CanterburyCatherine and Matt Dwancatherine@thepropertyfirm.co.nzThe first meeting will be more of a meet and greet and chat about what everyone is doing in their truffiere.
Hopefully from there we can ascertain what specific topics would be useful to discuss in future meetings.

Catherine is asking if someone is willing to host the first meeting at their truffiere. Please contact Catherine directly if you are able to assist.
12 May 2019Wellington/WairarapaNeil Cameronlochiel@xtra.co.nzGroups first meeting to discuss the growing of truffles.
25 May 2019TaranakiDan and Kylie Zinslikylie.zinsli@gmail.comPre-winter catch up.

Contact Dan and Kylie directly for more information.
9th JuneBOP (North)Maureen Burgesscolbyandmomo@yahoo.com.auWe have decided to have a truffle hunt here on Sunday 9th June. Further details will follow but start time is expected to be 10.30ish (it is winter, after all).

The target audience is those who have been growing truffle trees for several years and are still waiting to harvest truffles and also the new people in our group who have just planted their trees or whose trees are fairly new and not yet producing truffles.

The maximum number for this truffle hunt is 8 people, and you need to book in for it because I intend that our refreshments will be truffle based......such as brie with truffle, truffled scrambled eggs, truffled buttered breadsticks. Still thinking about that.

Book your spot by contacting Maureen.
7 July 2019Nelson/MarlboroughPeter Burtonpeter.burton@nmhs.govt.nzThis meeting will be held at Steve and Jenny Hart's. Contact Peter for further details.